This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.
News & Events

Class Day 2020

During Sanford's 84th annual Class Day celebration, which was held virtually on Wednesday May 27th, Upper School students were honored for achievements in academics, athletics, arts, and service. The ceremony also featured student addresses from seniors Natalie Bianchi Corey Perkins; musical selections presented by Keeleigh Babcock and Karen Fang; and remarks from Head of School Mark Anderson and Upper School Head Abbi Smith.

The 2019–2020 awards and recipients from the senior class were:
Chrysalis Award—Nicole Brophy
Dale Seymour Award—Brianna Kung and Jonathan Fritz
Athlete of the Year for Women—Evan Amendum
Athlete of the Year for Men—Jyare Davis
Sanford W. Sawin, Jr., Memorial Award—Allie Kubek
Frank H. Simmons Memorial Literary Award—Rileigh Owens
Helen Vermeychuk Memorial Award—Dasia Straker
Sanford W. Sawin, Sr. Award for Mathematics—Owen Andreasen
Marcelle Orsini Award for Foreign Language—Bruno Gomez
Damon Brown Memorial Award for Science—Julia Hatoum
W. Michael Akers Memorial Award for History—Olivia Cross
STEM Award—Steven Xia
Bruce O. Jones Art Award—Jenna Warren
May V. Hays Memorial Plaque—Greg Fleming
C. Edgar Fry, Jr. Memorial Award—Camille Decker
Clarance A. Hays Memorial Plaque—Eleanor Vander Laan

Underclass awards were presented to:
Liv Cornwall—Mark Shields Cum Laude Society Award in History
Melissa Daniels—Stanlee C. Nott Challenge Trophy
Lili Dougherty—Cum Laude Society Award in Performing Arts
Samara Duragin—Cum Laude Society Award in Studio Arts
Reid Farmer—Cum Laude Society Award in Science
Noah Hollander—Cum Laude Society Award in Spanish
Ananya Jain—Bausch and Lomb Award and Williams College Book Award
Jordan Nashed—Sigma Diploma Mathematics Award, Rensselaer Medalist
Albert Opher—Cum Laude Society Award in French
Wyatt Seder-Burnaford—Brown University Book Award
CJ Slanina—Cum Laude Society Award in Latin
Milo Watson—Cum Laude Society Award in English
Claire Wen—Art Gift for the School Award
Alex You—Cum Laude Society Award in Math

Watch our virtual Class Day ceremony

Do you need help?

If you have questions or need help using the site, send an email to webhelp@sanfordschool.org.