This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.
News & Events

Class Day 2021

During Sanford's 85th annual Class Day celebration, which was held on Wednesday, June 9th, Upper School students were honored for achievements in academics, athletics, arts, and service. The ceremony also featured student addresses from seniors Javon “Jaz” Spencer and Wyatt Seder-Burnaford; musical selections presented by Lucas DeVinney '24 and the Upper School Concert Choir; and remarks from Head of School Mark Anderson and Upper School Head Abbi Smith.

The 2020–2021 awards and recipients from the senior class were:
Chrysalis Award—Emma Colby
Dale Seymour Award—Lia Dougherty and Hunter Murray
Athlete of the Year for Women—Annie Leo
Athlete of the Year for Men—Jason Lamey
Sanford W. Sawin, Jr., Memorial Award for Athletics—Nnanna Njoku
Frank H. Simmons Memorial Literary Award—Lia Dougherty
Helen Vermeychuk Memorial Award—Jada Jackson
Sanford W. Sawin, Sr. Award for Mathematics—Reid Farmer
Marcelle Orsini Award for Foreign Language—Charles Slanina
Damon Brown Memorial Award for Science—Jordan Nashed
W. Michael Akers Memorial Award for History—Wyatt Seder-Burnaford
STEM Award—Albert Opher, IV
Bruce O. Jones Art Award—Samara Durgadin
May V. Hays Memorial Plaque—Lili Dougherty
C. Edgar Fry, Jr. Memorial Award—Elizabeth Zimmer
Clarance A. Hays Memorial Plaque—Catherine Gluodenis

Underclass awards were presented to:
Renee Amado—Brown University Book Award, Cum Laude Society Award in Science
Amira Brownell—Cum Laude Society Award in Math
Lauren Downs—Bausch and Lomb Award,  Williams College Book Award, and Cum Laude Society Award in Spanish
Adelena Farrell—Cum Laude Society Award in French
Alex Goldman—Cum Laude Society Award in Latin
Scarlett Helmecki—A.B. Banghart Individual Award
Andrew Kedash —Mark Shields Cum Laude Society Award in History
Emma Kovacs—Stanley C. Nott Challenge Trophy
Joseph McMillan—Cum Laude Society Award in English
Abby Meredith—Cum Laude Society Award in Studio Arts
Emma Smith—Cum Laude Society Award in Performing Arts
Daphne Tanner and Ava McCoy-Johnson—Art Gift for the School Award
William Wu—Sigma Diploma Mathematics Award
Alex You—Rensselaer Medal

Watch Our Class Day Ceremony

Class Day Memories

Photos courtesy of Ted Rosenthal/Izmaddy Studios.

Do you need help?

If you have questions or need help using the site, send an email to webhelp@sanfordschool.org.