This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.
News & Events

Commencement 2021

On Saturday, June 12th, 68 seniors were honored during Sanford's 85th Commencement. Highlights of the event included a keynote address from History Department Co-Chair Anna Littlefield; student addresses from Spencer Zbranak '21, Emma Colby '21, and Jordan Nashed '21; musical selections by Mackenzie Cuffe '21, Lia Dougherty '21, Lili Dougherty '21,  Ananya Jain '21, Emma Kovacs '22, Elizabeth Zimmer '21, and the Upper School Concert Choir; the announcement of student award winners by Head of School Mark Anderson; and the presentation of diplomas and awards by Head of School Mark Anderson, Board of Trustees President Ted H. Dwyer III, and Head of Upper School Abbi Smith.

Commencement Award Recipients

Reid Farmer received the Scholastic Award for having the highest cumulative four-year academic average.
Lili Dougherty received the Alumni Award, presented to the student whose participation in extra-curricular activities has been most dedicated.
Elizabeth Zimmer received the Thomas McCarthy Award for Citizenship, awarded to the student who has always been a responsible and contributing citizen in every aspect of campus life.
Javon “Jaz” Spencer, Jr. received the Kenneth D. Jones Memorial Award, given to the senior who has shown outstanding qualities of leadership, loyalty, and good citizenship, and who is always gracious in manner and considerate of others.
Katherine Zabel received the Nancy C. Sawin Final Award, given to the senior who has shown outstanding qualities of leadership, loyalty, and good citizenship, and who is always gracious in manner and considerate of others.
Emma Colby and Jordan Nashed received the Headmaster's Award, presented on an occasional basis, as deemed appropriate by the faculty and the Head of School, to honor a member of the graduating class whose achievement or presence has been so exemplary that special recognition is in order.

Their Journeys Continue

Our alumni plan to begin new chapters in their life's journey. Here's where their paths are taking them.

Xander Thomas Baugess
Hofstra University
Ian A. Binnersley
Auburn University
Danielle Laetitia Birkett
University of Tennessee
Carissa Bree Bonner
University of Delaware
Jesse Flynn Bradley-Johnson
Dickinson College
Ashleigh Maria Burger
St. Joseph’s University
Siyu Zach Chen Case Western Reserve University
Tobias Zwick Coker Elon University
Emma D. Colby Boston College
Olivia Cornwall Villanova University
Nasir Michael Cowan Delaware State University
Mackenzie Belle Cuffe Queen Mary University of London
Noah Lutgen Curland DePauw University
Melissa Lauryn Daniels Wellesley College
Hannah Lauren Davenport High Point University
Lia Lynn Dougherty Davidson College
Lili Lynn Dougherty Northeastern University
Samara Durgadin Pace University
Madeline Duzy Villanova University
Brandon Theodore Dwyer LaSalle University
Reid David Farmer University of Virginia
Deming Holland Florax University of Delaware
Hayden Oscar Fuller Loyola Marymount University
James Dale Gaylor James Madison University
Mason Nicholas Giordano Florida Gulf Coast University
Catherine Alexis Gluodenis Rhodes College
Anna Elizabeth Hionis Salisbury University
Noah Benjamin Hollander University of Florida
Audrey Cleaves Holveck Drexel University
Jada Noel Jackson Delaware State University
Ananya Jain Northeastern University
Amin Nasir Johnson University of Delaware
Matthew Larson Kedash Purdue University
Mohamed Amara Konneh Drexel University
Jason Charles Lamey Flagler College
Casey Morgan Leach Florida Gulf Coast University
Annie Reed Leo Drexel University
Zhongfengjing Steve Lin University of California, Santa Cruz
Nicholas James Luckangelo Elon University
Timothy Lucky Fairfield University
Ruishan Ma Northeastern University
Michael Thomas Marshall Bloomsburg University
Malcolm James Eckersley McLaurin University of Pittsburgh
Matthew Montante Northeastern University
Marcus Motion University of Maryland
Hunter Tayg Murray Ursinus College
Jordan Edmund Nashed Pennsylvania State University
Zaki Spencer Nashed Pennsylvania State University
Nnanna Njoku Villanova University
Albert William Opher, IV University of Pennsylvania
Ian Dandridge Ronald Elon University
Margaret J. Ross University of Miami
Carter Joseph Ruby University of Tampa
Emily Constance Sachau University of Tampa
Wyatt Armin Sterling Seder-Burnaford Boston College
Morgan Elizabeth Silvers Franklin & Marshall College
Charles Joseph Slanina Franklin & Marshall College
Javon Anthony Spencer, Jr. McDaniel College
Nicholas Lawrence Thompson University of Tampa
Milo Christopher Watson Allegheny College
Benjamin S. Wilkinson Full-Time Employment
Aaron Lee Wilmore University of Delaware
Rowan Jessica Wysock Ursinus College
Brogan Dennen Yates Coastal Carolina University
Samantha Mayne Young The George Washington University
Katherine Olivia Zabel Texas Christian University
Spencer William Zbranak Pennsylvania State University
Elizabeth McCalley Zimmer University of Tampa

Watch The Ceremony

Commencement Memories

Photos courtesy of Ted Rosenthal/Izmaddy Studios.

Upper School Students Honored During Class Day

On Wednesday, June 9th, Upper School students were honored during our annual Class Day celebration. Visit Class Day 2021 to learn more.

Do you need help?

If you have questions or need help using the site, send an email to webhelp@sanfordschool.org.