This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of these cookies.

Share this story:

Stan Waterman Named 2016 Delaware Coach of the Year

Sanford Boys' Basketball coach, Dean of Students, and Assistant Athletic Director Stan Waterman was recently honored by the Delaware Sportswriters and Broadcasters Association as the winner of the 2016 Tubby Raymond Award for Delaware’s Coach of the Year.
The award recognizes his long and successful record as a coach and mentor, most recently leading Sanford to another basketball state championship in 2016.

Stan was presented with the award at the association’s 68th annual banquet, which was held on Monday, February 20, at the Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel. The banquet also honored Katelyn Falgowski, an Olympian in field hockey and winner of the John J. Brady Award for Delaware’s Outstanding Athlete of 2016; Charma Bell, an LGPA golfer and winner of the Herm Reitzes Award for Public Service; and Zoe Scott, basketball player at Caesar Rodney High School and winner of the Buddy Hurlock Unsung Hero Award.

“The year 2016 has been an unbelievable year in my life,” Stan wrote in an email announcing the recognition. “We have had so many wonderful things to celebrate. We celebrated my 50th birthday, we won a state championship, we named the basketball court in the sports center in my honor, my daughter was engaged to be married, and so many more exciting things took place. I am looking forward to even greater in 2017.”

Congratulations to Stan!

Ask Us A Question About Sanford School

Do you need help?

If you have questions or need help using the site, send an email to webhelp@sanfordschool.org.